Our DUI Defense Attorneys Are Available to Help

The Pacific Legal Group takes steps to investigate all of the specifics surrounding your DUI case. We’ll look through your police report, analyze your traffic stop, and check if there were faults in following proper procedures. We’ll take extra steps to ensure you have a solid legal defense, including challenging breathalyzer results (no breathalyzer is 100% accurate) and finding flaws in police conduct. For example, if the officer who arrested you failed to read you your rights, your case may be dismissed completely.

Driving under the influenceWhy Do You Need A DUI Lawyer

If you are charged with a DUI, the consequences can be life changing. However, it is not too late to seek legal assistance so that you do not suffer the worst consequences. This is why it is crucial to hire a DUI lawyer in Utah from Pacific Legal Group immediately so that you can have someone on your side fighting for your rights. No matter what kind of charge you are facing, you can rely on a skilled DUI lawyer to assess your case and determine the defense strategies that will work in your favor. One of our experienced DUI lawyers will look into the details of your case to make sure none of your rights were infringed upon and speak to law enforcement and other lawyers on your behalf moving forward. 

We will look at the police report, investigate the incident, and speak with you about everything that happened the day of your DUI. You need to be honest with us about everything so we can do our best to help you. We want to see you have a positive outcome after the accusation, and will see if there was anything done that could have affected this charge. Sometimes breathalyzer tests are not accurate. Or, maybe, the police officer who pulled you over just did a visual test to see if you appeared to be intoxicated. These are important details to look at and our law office has seen it all, so we know what to look for in a DUI case. 

Being Charged With DUI

A DUI charge is not something that you should take lightly. Utah has one of the strictest DUI laws in the country. In Utah, you could be charged with driving under the influence if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of over 0.05 percent. This was lowered from a previous BAC of 0.08 percent. If you are accused of drunk driving, then you may benefit from hiring a seasoned DUI lawyer to help you. 

As soon as you find out about a DUI charge, don’t hesitate to take action. Prolonging action may only make your situation worse. For a charge like DUI, you want to make sure that you have the strongest possible legal representation. You may believe that it is a minor charge that you are capable of defending yourself, but it is not a good idea to try to attempt to handle a DUI charge on your own. There is a chance that you could face serious consequences if you do not take action. 

If you have been charged with DUI, do not panic and expect the worst. However, you need to explore your legal options as soon as possible, especially if it is not your first DUI charge. You still have a chance of avoiding penalties if you act quickly to find a lawyer who will be your fiercest advocate. 

When Should You Hire a DUI Lawyer

It is crucial to find a Utah DUI lawyer immediately after you get pulled over for driving under the influence. You have the right to a lawyer, and do not have to speak with law enforcement until you have representation. This is important to remember, as anything you say could be held against you in court. Our DUI lawyers will know how to handle the questioning and look into the case being filed against you to see where injustice may have occurred. They understand how to prepare a criminal defense case and be there for their clients. A DUI is a very serious offense, so you should never try to handle it on your own. 

The Cost of a DUI

In Utah, a DUI can range from a Class B misdemeanor to a felony. Class B misdemeanors are less severe than Class A misdemeanors, but they still carry expensive fines and possible jail time, as well as community service instead of (or in addition to) your other punishments. If you are charged with a Class B misdemeanor, you may spend up to six months in jail, and be fined up to $1000. If your DUI was more serious, or a repeat offense, you could even be charged with a felony, and faced with time in prison.

At the Pacific Legal Group, we are dedicated to working closely with our clients to reduce the severity of DUI charges. We walk our clients through the entire legal process and provide all the information you’ll need to completely understand where your case stands and how best to proceed. We don’t believe in keeping our clients in the dark – instead, we communicate with you and work closely with you to ensure you get through your legal challenges.

What Is the Punishment for a DUI

While every case is different and your attorney may be able to help you avoid penalties, there are some typical punishments you can expect when you have a DUI conviction. Note that prior to your conviction, you may also have some penalties. The very first issue you will face is the impounding of your vehicle. Unless there is someone else on the scene who can take your car for you, officers will send it to impound. An impounded vehicle will require payment of fees to get it back. You may also have an order to get an ignition interlock device on all vehicles you own and drive. You will have to pay the associated costs for the installation and maintenance of the device.

On your first offense, you could face a license suspension of up to 18 months. If you refuse to take the blood alcohol requested at the time of your arrest, you will receive an 18-month suspension, even if the court does not convict you for drunk driving. You may also have to attend alcohol counseling or take courses to get your license back or receive driving privileges while under suspension. There is a mandatory jail time of two days, but the court may allow you to do 48 hours of community service instead. However, the total time you may face is up to 180 days in prison.

When you have a DUI conviction, there are two parts to your penalties. You will face criminal punishment from the court, which could include jail time and fines. You will also have administrative penalties, which are usually automatic under the law and typically apply to your driving privileges. Understanding the process can be difficult, so you should speak with a DUI lawyer in Utah to learn what could happen. 

The penalties for driving under the influence can range greatly, particularly if it was your first offense or not and whether or not the offender was a minor. Punishments tend to be harsher for people who have previously had a DUI and for minors, possibly to try to teach a lesson. DUI lawyers in Utah are familiar with the laws and potential punishments and will opt to get the lesser punishment for their clients so that the penalty does not follow them around for a long time after the event. However, even a less severe punishment can still affect your life. With a DUI conviction, you might find it difficult to hold a job, apply for a loan, and more. There can be fines, penalties that take away a license to drive, or even jail time.

A lawyer will know how to best negotiate and navigate a situation like this. They have experience representing many clients who have also faced a DUI charge, so they are familiar with identifying which strategies can build a strong defense. You are much more likely to be given a smaller penalty or sentence if you seek out a DUI lawyer who has successfully been able to have their clients’ charges reduced or dropped.  These penalties are only those coming from the state. A DUI can cause you issues with your personal and professional life as well. It is usually quite disruptive to your life to get a DUI conviction, even if it is your first time, so it is a good idea to secure a DUI lawyer in Utah.

Pacific Legal Group is your Utah DUI lawyer

DUI Lawyer In Utah

If you’ve been arrested because of a DUI, a DUI lawyer Utah can help. DUI charges are serious, and they have the potential to impact your future in more ways than just a simple fine or a few nights in jail. Even after you have paid your fine or served jail time, they can affect you long after you have been handed your sentence. If this is your first DUI, you might be feeling anxious, worried, and completely overwhelmed. And if this is your second or third DUI, you might be feeling the same. Whether it’s your first or fourth, a DUI is never a pleasant experience, and it pays to learn all you can about your DUI so you can be sure your lawyer will be able to provide the most assistance. While facing a DUI charge can be stressful and intimidating, don’t let it deter you from learning about your legal options so that you can have proper legal representation. 

In addition to getting all the details about your arrest in order, it’s also important to fully understand what to expect from an accomplished DUI lawyer. When you reach out to a lawyer for legal representation, you need to be sure you’re in good hands. The right lawyer will be willing to provide personalized case management and can walk you through your entire DUI process. Of course, not all DUI lawyers in Utah are made the same – you’ll need a team that’s as committed to your case as you are, and that’s why you need Pacific Legal Group.

First-Time DUI: What To Expect

Seeing the flashing blue and red lights in your mirror makes for a bad evening, but it gets even worse when the officer arrests you for driving under the influence. If it is your first time suffering this fate, you may worry about what could happen to you.

The good news is that first-time offenses usually carry lower penalties than repeat offenses, but the state still maintains a harsh stance against any DUI conviction. A DUI lawyer in Utah can help you to understand what to expect.

The Do’s And Don’ts Of A DUI

You drank too much and now you find yourself in a situation you don’t want to be in. Getting a DUI is a serious situation. You now could find yourself embroiled in a lengthy legal process. Know that the Pacific Legal Group can help. There are a few things you should and shouldn’t do if you see those flashing lights behind you after a night at the bars. 

Do Cooperate

The process can go smoother if you cooperate. This means to pull over the moment you see flashing lights. Stay in your car and answer the police officer’s questions respectfully. Be sure you have information like your driver’s license and car registration at the ready if they ask for it.

It may be hard to stay calm. However, your behavior can help keep case complications to a minimum.

Don’t Refuse a Sobriety Test

The police officer may ask you to take a breathalyzer test. Understandably, you may start to feel panic. This is where you could give your condition away. 

However, if you refuse a sobriety test, things could get more complicated. The police officer may be even more suspicious. Your behavior could be noted when it comes time to write DUI charges.

Do Write Down What You Remember

After the DUI incident clears, you should write down what you remember. Try and think about what happened before, during, and after. You should also note how much you had to drink and how you and the officer both behaved.

This information can be important to a DUI lawyer in Utah when they work on your case. Even information you may not think is important could serve you.

Don’t Give Away Incriminating Information

The scene of the DUI begins the DUI court process. Everything you say could be used against you in court when you talk to police officers or any other law enforcement personnel.

You have certain rights even if you are arrested. One of them is the right to remain silent. A DUI lawyer in Utah can advise you on what to say during the trial process.

Do Hire an Attorney

A DUI lawyer in Utah understands the legal process. An attorney from the Pacific Legal Group can work on plea deals and settlements. They can also represent you if the trial goes to court.

Utah DUI InfographicThe Do's and Don'ts of A DUI Infographic

What Pacific Legal Group Can Do for You

When you reach out to Pacific Legal Group for legal representation and assistance with your DUI, you get dedicated lawyers who are as committed to your case as you are. One of the first steps of handling your case and fighting your DUI is gathering as much information as possible, which includes going over your arrest and the procedures carried out by the police. When we look over your police report, we look closely for any errors that might affect your case, and we provide you with all the information you need so you know what steps to take next.

In certain cases, you might have been on the receiving end of a DUI charge because of a routine traffic stop. If that stop was invalid, then your legal team can exploit the improper conduct of the arresting officer. If there are errors in the police report, your legal team can target each error and inconsistency to further invalidate any charges levelled against you. When it comes to a DUI, you need all the help you can get, and that means going to a qualified DUI lawyer in Utah.

Utah DUI Statistics

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), there were an estimated 1.5 million DUI convictions in the United States in 2021. If you are arrested for DUI, it is important to seek legal counsel immediately. A qualified attorney can help you understand your rights and options, and they can represent you in court.

Utah DUI FAQs

What is the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit in Utah?

In Utah, the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.05% for drivers over the age of 21. This is lower than the standard 0.08% used in most other states. For commercial drivers, the limit is 0.04%, and for drivers under the age of 21, any detectable amount of alcohol is illegal, reflecting Utah’s zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving.

What are the penalties for a first-time DUI offense in Utah?

A first-time DUI offense in Utah is considered a misdemeanor and can result in penalties such as a minimum jail time of 48 hours, community service, fines typically starting at $1,300, mandatory participation in an educational series or substance abuse treatment program, and driver’s license suspension for 120 days. The severity of the penalties can increase depending on the circumstances, such as having a BAC significantly above the legal limit or causing an accident while under the influence.

Can I refuse a breathalyzer test in Utah, and what are the consequences?

Utah has an implied consent law, meaning that if you operate a vehicle, you consent to chemical testing to determine your BAC. Refusing a breathalyzer or other chemical test can result in automatic penalties such as an 18-month driver’s license suspension for a first refusal. Additional refusals or a refusal in combination with a previous DUI conviction can lead to harsher penalties.

Are there any DUI laws specific to Utah that might differ from other states?

One notable aspect of Utah DUI law is the lower BAC limit of 0.05%, which is stricter than the 0.08% limit found in most other states. Additionally, Utah enforces a “not-a-drop” law that applies to drivers under 21, meaning any measurable amount of alcohol in their system while driving is illegal. Utah also has provisions for an ignition interlock system requirement for all individuals convicted of DUI, which is a device that prevents a vehicle from starting if alcohol is detected in the driver’s breath.

What happens if I’m charged with a DUI with a minor in the vehicle in Utah?

Being charged with a DUI while a minor is in the vehicle can lead to enhanced penalties under Utah law. This situation is typically treated as a separate class A misdemeanor, which can result in increased fines, longer jail time, and extended mandatory driver’s license suspensions. The presence of a minor in the vehicle at the time of a DUI offense is considered an aggravating factor that can significantly affect the severity of the legal consequences.

Don’t Let a DUI Ruin Your Life – Contact Pacific Law Group Today

Don’t underestimate the impact that a DUI conviction can have on your life. A DUI conviction has the potential to ruin your life. Not only will you be facing serious fines and possible jail time, but you’ll also have increased insurance rates and a mark on your criminal record. It could affect your relationships with family, friends, and supervisors at work. When you take steps to fight your DUI, you’re taking steps to get your life back, and that’s why Pacific Legal Group should be your first phone call. We understand that behind every DUI case is a person with their own story, their own hopes, and ambitions – and we know that you shouldn’t sacrifice everything because of a simple DUI.

Pacific Legal Group Utah DUI Lawyer

1979 North 1120 W
Provo, Utah 84604


Client Review

“Rob Avery was a great guy to work with, he helped with answering my questions regarding traffic matters. He also very happy to help!”
Michael Hobbs
Client Review