Domestic Violence Lawyer in Provo, UT
A domestic violence accusation is a serious charge, but a domestic violence lawyer in Provo, Utah, can help. Domestic violence carries serious weight for everyone involved, and it can greatly affect the lives of all parties, whether they were victims or perpetrators. Violence at home can destroy lives, and charges of domestic violence can destroy futures.
In Utah, the punishments for domestic violence vary depending on the severity of the violence, and whether there were children involved. Even threatening domestic violence can be viewed as a Class B Misdemeanor, and if a child is present, the punishments are doubled. The law views a child bystander as another victim of domestic violence, even if they weren’t the target of any violence in the first place. Because of this legal stance, there are extra punishments for involving children in domestic violence.
Aside from physical pain, there are long-lasting effects of domestic violence that can seriously impair a person’s ability to lead a normal life. Survivors of domestic violence may experience lifelong psychological trauma – it can shatter homes and lead to downward spirals of substance abuse, self harm, and even mental illness. Domestic violence is a serious crime, and being accused of domestic violence has the potential to greatly impact your life.
Being Accused of Domestic Violence
Being accused of domestic violence can upend your life completely. Your reputation will be destroyed, and the state will confiscate your possessions and infringe on your rights. You may face additional effects outside of the legal system as well: being cast out by family and friends, fired from your job, and completely isolated – all because of one accusation of domestic abuse. Whether the accusations are true or not is outside of the question: you will lose your reputation, you will have any weapons you own confiscated by the state, and you will face a long and complicated legal process to clear your name – unless you contact a domestic violence lawyer in Provo, UT.
The possible punishments for domestic violence vary depending on the severity of the violence, and whether or not there are any previous charges on your record. A first domestic violence offense is – at the very least – a Class B misdemeanor in the eyes of the Utah legal system. Class B misdemeanors are punishable by up to six months in jail, up to $1000 in fines, community service, or any combination of all three. However, if it’s your second domestic violence charge, you could be facing a Class A misdemeanor instead: up to 364 days in jail, and up to $2500 in fines. The more domestic violence charges on your record, the more severe the punishment, and it’s not uncommon for repeat offenders to face felony charges and prison time.
The Price of an Accusation
All too often, domestic violence accusations can be used to destroy a person, rip them away from their children, confiscate their property, and restrict their rights. But after being accused of domestic violence, your battle is only just beginning.
Even if you’ve been wrongfully accused of domestic violence, few people will want to take your side. But fortunately, you can count on an experienced domestic violence lawyer to back you up as you battle against your charges. At the Pacific Legal Group, we can thoroughly investigate your case and provide personalized case management to help you beat the charges or get the charges reduced.
An accusation of domestic violence has the potential to ruin your life – but it shouldn’t. Reach out to a qualified domestic violence lawyer in Provo, UT, and see what the Pacific Legal Group can do for you.